Skip to content

Once upon a time…

February 24, 2011

“The more you read, the more things you will know.
The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.” 

Dr. Seuss, I Can Read With My Eyes Shut!

Bedtime books are one of my favorite childhood memories and I hope they will be for my son. Like all children, he likes to read the same book again, and again, and again, and again, and yet again. Eventually he’s ready to move on to something else, and exploring new books together is one of my favorite parental rites – definite win over diaper changing or 2am wake up calls! 

We recently moved from Eastman’s Are You My Mother (a great classic!) to Martin/Archambault’s Chicka Chicka Boom Boom (fun and catchy) and Giles/Parker-Rees’ Giraffes Can’t Dance (sweet message and fun illustrations) and it got me wondering about other children and their parents’ faves. So I asked around and got some classics and less well-known recommendations – check them out!

Please note: Links below are all to Amazon for simplicity, but these books can be purchased in many/most bookstores, through a gajillion vendors online, or found at your local library.

How Do Dinosaurs Say Goodnight? by Jane Yolen

Where Do Balloons Go? by Jamie Lee Curtis

The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein

Mother Goose Rhymes by various

Berenstain Bears… books by Stan and Jan Berenstain

Froggy… books by Johnathan London

The House in the Night by Susan Marie Swanson (simple, beautiful message and some of my favorite illustrations EVER.)

Knuffle Bunny… books by Mo Willems

Pigeon… books by Mo Willems

Three Tales of My Father’s Dragon by Ruth Stiles Gannett

Grandfather Twilight by Barbara Berger

The Little Fur Family by Margaret Wise Brown

For more book ideas, check out the National Education Association’s, Teacher’s Top 100 Books for Children or Best Children’s Books by Age from Parents.com (grouped by age and topic).

Tell me your favorite bedtime stories…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Eileen permalink
    February 26, 2011 11:50 am

    I have two go-to books that I loved as a child and stll love as an adult. Their core messages are perhaps even more important for me to remember now. “The Little Engine that Could” and yes, The Giving Tree” remind us that “thinking you can” is half the battle, and to never take small acts of service (or earth’s natural gifts to humankind) for granted.

  2. Kerrie Grant permalink
    February 26, 2011 1:02 pm

    A few of the books that fell into the, “again and again and again and again and yet again”, category with my children and are still classics today. The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle; the original Mr Men series; Winnie-the-Pooh, When We Were Very Young and Now We Are Six, all by A.A. Milne

  3. Lynda Dawson permalink
    February 27, 2011 9:35 am

    My little one is only 5 months old, and hasn’t yet learned the words, “Again, Mommy!” but she loves to turn the pages on board books with bright colors and simple designs before tucking in for the night. Two favorites right now are “Colors” by Bright Baby (www.priddybooks.com) and “That’s Not My Dinosaur,” an Usborne touchy-feely book (www.ubah.com). Though a little long for her current attention span, a mom favorite for me is “On The Night You Were Born” by Nancy Tillman, and I can always skip to the last page if she starts to get fussy and segue into dreamland with, “Heaven blew every trumpet and played every horn on the wonderful, marvelous night you were born.”

  4. Nancy permalink
    February 28, 2011 11:57 am

    My kids are a bit older, but reading at night together is always a favorite. My all time favorite is reading The Chronicles of Narnia together. Disney did a great job with the movies and helps my kids “see” the characters and get them interested in the other books.

    Currently my eldest son and I are reading the Harry Potter series together. (I like this because it helps me see where his view point is coming from and I think he likes it because it’s a challenging read for him and me “re-reading” sections helps with his reading comprehension.)

    My middle child is just learning to read, so we like picking books that he can try. The “Elephant & Piggie” series makes all of us laugh. One of my favorite nights was having my two boys act out the story, “Throw the Ball”.

    Then of course, there is my youngest daughter. Her current favorite is about how princesses are supposed to act. (Being polite, saying excuse me, etc.) Now whenever she makes poor choices I ask if that’s what a princess would do!

Leave a Reply

