Skip to content

How I lost 13 pounds in 6 weeks

June 5, 2013

Expedite Groupweight loss is all about helping you enjoy your life as much as possible.  Whenever something works out really well for us, we want to share it with you, whether it’s a lawn service, a homemade ant deterrant, a vegan restaurant in Charlotte, or a few weight loss tips.

Below are the six simple changes that helped me shift from struggling to losing.  Chances are you’ve heard it all before, but these have my stamp of endorsement based on legit success.

In the spirit of full disclosure, this is the first 13 of an ideal 60, so if you’re lucky enough to not have as far to go as I do, these changes may not make as big of a difference to you.  But I hope they help!

1.  Write down everything that you eat.

Weight Watchers and MyFitnessPal, both popular and effective programs, are built on this principal.  If I knew it was going on a record, I thought twice about ingesting it.

2.  Drink before you eat.

This tip came from our awesome pediatrician who had read a medical study that showed it worked.  An 8-ounce glass of water before any meal or snack will help you feel full sooner.

3. Ditch carbonation.

Feeling thinner can encourage healthy choices, and when I cut out non-caloric carbonated beverages (I swapped in iced red tea with stevia), I stopped feeling bloated.  I also save money, since a box of Rooibos tea bags is less than $3 and makes at least 6 quarts of sun tea.

4. Eat more fruits and vegetables.

Nope, can’t get around this one.  The great thing is, delicious options are so accessible these days.  The most flavorful food is farm fresh, so hit the Farmer’s Market (or have Expedite Group run the errand for you) or join a Community Sustained Agriculture (CSA) group (Expedite Group can help you find one).

Make it a game if that works for you.  See if you can really get five a day.  Then go for more, swapping out higher calorie foods.  I, for one, am hooked.

One meal a day, usually lunch, is a smoothie made in my humble blender using any combination of frozen berries, banana, peaches, mango, or pineapple, with soy milk, spinach or kale (YES, spinach or kale) and a splash of OJ.  Delicious, nutritious, filling, refreshing, simple.

5. Don’t exercise too much.

This is tricky.  I’ve always had regular exercise in my routine, but somehow my weight didn’t really start to drop until I slacked off a bit.  My thinking is that because I was not doing actual workouts, I tried to compensate by choosing more activity during the day.  I stood rather than sat during my sons’ baseball games  (have you read the EGinsider entry from May 12?!).  I parked farther away at the grocery store.  I went to get the mail myself instead of sending my children.

And with less frequent actual workouts, I have more mental stamina for higher intensity.

6.  Enjoy everything.  Just enjoy less of it.

With three young children, the occasional treat is an inevitable part of life.  This past month that has meant that instead of getting my own dish of frozen yogurt, I tasted each child’s concoction.  Instead of filling a plate at a reception, I snacked one bite at a time.  Instead of opening my own beer, I asked my husband to pour a third of his into a glass for me (it’s carbonated, yes, but we’re talking moderation, people!).

And then, like I told you in number 1, I write it down.

Comments are closed.

